HomeFeaturesTBRs/Wrap-UpsAugust 2019 Reading Wrap-Up

August 2019 Reading Wrap-Up

August 2019 Reading Wrap-Up

I added in some graphic novel reads this month … I was pleasantly pleased … for the most part. I was behind in my goals, but this is a fairly common occurrence! Here are my quick thoughts on my August reads:

1. Gods of Jade and Shadow 4*: Mayan history, mythology, romance, fantasy, mystery … this is a novel unlike anything I’ve ever read. At times a bit slow, at times a bit psychedelic — it is the perfect cure for a reading slump. Full review here.

2. Spin the Dawn 4.5*: Just such an enjoyable Mulan/Project Runway/fantasy/romance that I was thoroughly entertained from page 1 to the need-the-sequel-right-now ending! Full Review here.

3. Shatter the Sky 3.75*: I wanted a lot more from this little book … specifically more character development and more dragons. While we do eventually get that dragon hit, it is a long wait … characters are pretty flat and nondescript.

4. Red, White and Royal Blue 3.5*: I struggled to like the main character Alex, which makes it very difficult to like a book. I had other grievances with this one and you can read all about it here!

5. Nocturna 5*: I just enjoyed this read so much. I know it has conflicting and polarizing opinions, which I explore in my review here, but I was so entertained with this Latinx high fantasy, with very light romance.

6. Are You Listening (YA graphic novel) 4*: This is a heavy hitting graphic novel exploring the painful, twisting road of healing from trauma and grief. It was beautiful handled and powerful.

7. Snapdragon (Middle Grade graphic novel) 5*: I cannot say anything about this being that I read an ARC with heavy embargo rules but I will say it is for fans of Tea Dragon Society and Cardboard Kingdom and will be a favourite of mine this year.

8. Grimoire Noir (YA graphic novel) 2*: If I could rate the artwork separately it would be a 5* for sure … but the writing here was campy and poorly executed.

Cherylhttps://www.aotales.com
Welcome to And other tales. The little corner of the interweb where we don’t count cups of coffee, believe cancelling plans to stay home & read is just good life advice, refuse to acknowledge the calories in baked goods and will never judge you on the number of marshmallows in your hot chocolate or the size of your TBR piles. Curl up, get comfy and click through for book reviews, life chats, playlists, vegan & gluten free baking recipes, gift guides and more.
RELATED ARTICLES

Newest Articles