HomeUnboxingsLitJoy CrateUnboxing: Review of LitJoy Crate August 2019

Unboxing: Review of LitJoy Crate August 2019

“Dressed for Deception”

LitJoy August 2019 Unboxing

The August theme for LitJoy Crate was “Dressed For Deception”, heralding all memorable literary tailoring, sewing, and general dress dazzling stories. It was a really fun box!

Cinderella Socks! Need I say more? These are very soft socks featuring the eager adorable mice and birds who, of course, legendarily sewed Cinderella an extraordinary ballgown. It was a really clever addition and I love Cinderella … so win, win.

LitJoy August 2019 socks

Continuing on the Disney theme – because how can we talk elaborate dresses without talking classic Disney princesses? – an Aurora zipper pouch. This is gorgeous pleather pouch was designed by Sara Paz. I’m really impressed with the quality of fabric and boldness of colour on this item. It also has a really strong zipper … not always a given in book box pouches!

LitJoy August 2019 pouch

“Who is the fairest of them all?” pin flag. 2019 has been the year of my enamel pin obsession … I love collecting them and displaying them on these pin flags! It really is a circular problem because the more pin flags I get the more pins I need to buy to fill them, the more pin flags I then need. This is another clever Disney nod and the yellow of the silk screened gilded mirror is quite shimmery and pretty.

LitJoy Crate August 2019 pin flag

Pencils! I can never get enough pencils in my book boxes, especially with cheeky phrases or catchphrases … I’m currently using “Stitch please.”

LitJoy Crate August 2019 pencils

Effie Trinket pocket mirror. While I haven’t watched/read The Hunger Games, this is a really pretty mirror with artwork by Soo Kim.

LitJoy Crate August 2019 mirror

A Court of Thorns and Roses trading cards featuring Feyre, Mor, and Amren. These are the first set of the deck 2 LitJoy trading cards … and I’m all for anything ACOTAR … so a great start! Artwork is by Niru Sky.

LitJoy Crate August 2019 cards

The book pick for August was A Dress for the Wicked by Autumn Krause with lovely reversible dust jacket artwork by Kathryn Adara.

LitJoy Crate A Dress for the Wicked

Overall Rating: A

  • Cinderella Socks: 3/3

  • Sleeping Beauty Zipper Pouch: 3/3

  • “Who is the fairest of them all?” Pin flag: 3/3

  • Fashion phrase pencils: 3/3

  • Effie Trinket pocket mirror 2/3 (I just don’t have a lot of uses for all the pocket mirrors, nor is it from a fandom I’m crazy about).

The “Dressed for Deception” box was really fun overall, with high quality, cheeky, and useful items. My favourite being the Cinderella socks and I love all the classy, nerdy items Litjoy includes in their boxes … I’m a big classic Disney fan, so this box was hit for me!

Note on Rating: I rate each item out of 3 possible points: 1 for quality, 1 for usefulness, and 1 for if I personally liked the item/fandom. I then assign an overall letter rating for the whole box.

Cheryl
Cherylhttps://www.aotales.com
Welcome to And other tales. The little corner of the interweb where we don’t count cups of coffee, believe cancelling plans to stay home & read is just good life advice, refuse to acknowledge the calories in baked goods and will never judge you on the number of marshmallows in your hot chocolate or the size of your TBR piles. Curl up, get comfy and click through for book reviews, life chats, playlists, vegan & gluten free baking recipes, gift guides and more.
RELATED ARTICLES

Newest Articles

Holiday Reading Guide 2022

October 2022 Reading Wrap-Up

Fall Book Haul