HomeUnboxingsOwlCrateUnboxing: Review of OwlCrate August 2019

Unboxing: Review of OwlCrate August 2019

“Storms and Seas”

OwlCrate August 2019 Unboxing

OwlCrate’s August “Storms and Seas” box was designed for the sea lover with nods to all things nautical.

Starting with my favourite item, The Little Mermaid inspired bath salts from The Soap Librarian. I love, love, love The Soap Librarian products but shipping to Canada is killer so every time OwlCrate includes one of her products I get to do my little happy dance. The Soap Librarian products are gentle and non-irritating for my sensitive skin, while being mildly scented. These bath salts tick all the boxes.

OwlCrate August 2019 the Soap Librarian

I was so happy to see an item from Daughter of the Pirate King, a past OwlCrate pick from March 2017! This beautiful laser engraved wooden bookmark from Juniper and Ivy Designs is stunning. It is a little bulky in my opinion to use as a bookmark, but I simply display it in my pencil/pen holder on my desk… do you see that gorgeous turquoise tassel?? Moving on.

OwlCrate August 2019 wooden bookmark

The tin pencil case, designed by Stella Bookish Art, was inspired by Maggie Stiefvater’s The Scorpio Races and definitely gives frothy, foamy ocean vibes! I love this dual compartment case, storing everyday-use items on the top layer and sharpeners/highlighter/erasers on the bottom. I get really excited for organization …

OwlCrate August 2019 Pencil Case

I’m also very excited to brew up a cup of Riddle’s Tea Shoppe’s “Sea Witch” (Decaf Earl Grey + Hazelnut Spice) on the next chilly fall day … maybe with a little steamed almond milk and a touch of sweetener?? As an allergy sufferer (Celiac) I love Riddle’s attention to allergies … all products are clearly labeled and most are gluten free!

OwlCrate August 2019 Sea Witch Tea

The last item was the OwlCrate exclusive tea light candle lantern. This lovely little lantern unscrews at the bottom where you can add a tea light, a battery-powered tea light (highly recommend) or some battery operated twinkle lights (shown in the pictures).

August’s book pick was House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin. A Craig and came signed with an author letter and metallic bookmark from the publisher. The lovely glow-in-the dark pin was designed by Laserbrain Patch Co and was apparently inspired by the family’s crest from HOSAS.

OwlCrate August 2019 House of Salt and Sorrows

OwlCrate August 2019 enamel pin

Overall Rating: A+

  • The Soap Librarian Bath Salts 3/3

  • Juniper and Ivy Designs Bookmark 3/3

  • Pencil Case 3/3

  • Riddle’s Tea Shoppe tea 3/3

  • Tea light lantern 3/3

I really liked everything in this month’s box and thought it was very well curated. I love when each item ties strongly to the theme and the book … just one lovely bookish package! I adore when we get to sample smallish bookish shop products and we were spoiled with three this month. Another winner in my books … haha … get it?? …. cause it’s a book box … and goodnight!

Note on Rating: I rate each item out of 3 possible points: 1 for quality, 1 for usefulness, and 1 for if I personally liked the item/fandom. I then assign an overall letter rating for the whole box.

Cherylhttps://www.aotales.com
Welcome to And other tales. The little corner of the interweb where we don’t count cups of coffee, believe cancelling plans to stay home & read is just good life advice, refuse to acknowledge the calories in baked goods and will never judge you on the number of marshmallows in your hot chocolate or the size of your TBR piles. Curl up, get comfy and click through for book reviews, life chats, playlists, vegan & gluten free baking recipes, gift guides and more.
RELATED ARTICLES

Newest Articles