HomeUnboxingsOwlCrateUnboxing: Review of OwlCrate November 2019

Unboxing: Review of OwlCrate November 2019

“Through the Enchanted Forest”

OwlCrate November 2019 Unboxing

OwlCrate’s November “Through The Enchanted Forest” is simply one of my favourite boxes I’ve gotten. Ever. In about three years of being a subscriber.

Just want to get that bias right out of the way … if you’d like to see what was included and hear me rave, read on!

I always start off with my favourite item which this month is a no brainer – the blanket! I have been patiently waiting (ok, not so patient – it isn’t my strong suit) for a blanket for a couple years and OwlCrate did not disappoint. This Cruel Prince blanket is plush! I was not expecting something so soft and cushy and comfy … but it is! The colours are bright and the design by Bookmark’d Tattoos is lovely … hit it out of the park.

OwlCrate November 2019 blanket

Another item I’ve been *ahem* patiently waiting for? A metal bookmark! This metal tassel bookmark was designed by Her Paper World and features a quote from Naomi Novik’s Uprooted (a book I have started and am excited to get back to)! The design is gorgeous and I love the beautiful purple tones. So very winter woods and perfect for this box.

OwlCrate November 2019 metal bookmark

Each year OwlCrate has included a Juniper and Ivy Designs wooden, laser engraved ornament and this year we have a Raven Boys inspired ornament to add to the collection! Featuring the quote: “Trees in your eyes, stars in your heart”.

OwlCrate November 2019 ornament

Another item OwlCrate has made a yearly tradition is a monthly reading planner in collaboration with Blue Star Press. This year’s planner is jumbo deluxe, with combined monthly and weekly spreads, TBRs, wishlists, spaces for reviews …. just room galore for the detailed orientated bookworm. The design throughout is woodsy, with acorns, branches, forest animals, etc.

OwlCrate November 2019 planner

Stickers! If you’ve read any about me you’ll know I have a sticker obsession and the sparklier the better! Pipsticks is a monthly sticker subscription I have been subscribed to on and off for a long time, it was nice to see an exclusive pack of stickers in this box featuring a page of sparkly, cute woodland creatures and a page of plain, generally bookish stickers. Too pretty to use in my opinion!

OwlCrate November 2019 pipsticks

This month’s pin was designed by FourSeasonsFox and features a moth that apparently plays an important part in the story.

OwlCrate November 2019 enamel pin

Which brings us to the book of the month … Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw. This OwlCrate exclusive edition came signed, with an author letter, a white background instead of black, and blue sprayed edges (see image at the bottom).  This is a book I have been super excited to read, if not for the gorgeous cover alone! I will say I don’t like the OwlCrate cover and much much prefer the original, but it is a small grievance when compared to the rest of the box.

OwlCrate November 2019 Winterwood

Overall Rating: A+

  • Blanket 4/3: How many ways can I say I love this blanket?

  • Metal Bookmark: 3/3

  • Juniper and Ivy Wooden Ornament: 3/3

  • Reading Planner: 3/3

  • Stickers: 3/3

Just an excellent box overall with only a minor complaint regarding the cover – luckily I have received it in my LitJoy box for November so I’m not too disappointed. Excellent attention to detail, everything really stuck to the theme, and colours were more vibrant than the usual OwlCrate dark — which I sincerely appreciate. Fabulous box!

Note on Rating: I rate each item out of 3 possible points: 1 for quality, 1 for usefulness, and 1 for if I personally liked the item/fandom. I then assign an overall letter rating for the whole box.

OwlCrate November 2019 Winterwood stained edges

Cheryl
Cherylhttps://www.aotales.com
Welcome to And other tales. The little corner of the interweb where we don’t count cups of coffee, believe cancelling plans to stay home & read is just good life advice, refuse to acknowledge the calories in baked goods and will never judge you on the number of marshmallows in your hot chocolate or the size of your TBR piles. Curl up, get comfy and click through for book reviews, life chats, playlists, vegan & gluten free baking recipes, gift guides and more.
RELATED ARTICLES

Newest Articles

Holiday Reading Guide 2022

October 2022 Reading Wrap-Up

Fall Book Haul