HomeUnboxingsOwlCrate Jr.Unboxing: OwlCrate Jr. September 2020

Unboxing: OwlCrate Jr. September 2020

“Shivers Down Your Spine”

OwlCrate Jr. September 2020 Unboxing

Use my discount code TALES15 to save yourself 15% off your first OwlCrate or OwlCrate Jr subscription! 

Are you a fan of thrills, chills and spooky stories? If so, the OwlCrate Jr box is tailor-made for you and perfectly timed for Halloween! Here’s what was inside:

Funko Something Wild! The Nightmare Before Christmas card game. I mean, who doesn’t love Jack? He’s simply iconic. Some of the imagery in the movie The Nightmare Before Christmas can be a bit creepy, but luckily Funko has really made the character cards cute and less grotesque for kids who are sensitive to that … like mine. The game itself is actually a bit confusing at first, but once you play a few rounds it goes much smoother and faster. A really fun addition to our family game nights!

OwlCrate Jr. September 2020 Funko Something Wild

“Sink your teeth into a good book” tote bag. Can I just say how much I love that this crazy looking Zombie is actually wearing a proper suit jacket and bow tie? This is a great tote for trick or treating (well, maybe next year) or lugging some spooky reads to and from the library! I love that the print is on both sides of the bag. It’s the small details in life!

OwlCrate Jr. September 2020 Zombie Tote

Spooky Washi Tape made exclusively for OwlCrate Jr by LouLou & Tummie. 10 metres of adorable ghosts, monsters, and bat-girls to decorate up our October calendars and journal pages. I love this item as “cutesy Halloween” is more my speed than “scary Halloween”. Also, this stationery addicted family always appreciates more stickers and Washi.

OwlCrate Jr. September 2020 washi tape

Frightlopedia book – an encyclopedia of all things scary, creepy, and spine tingling. Not for the faint of heart! This book is terrifying – so be forewarned. For those who love to be spooked and to read about the macabre and grotesque this will be an excellent choice … especially for a reluctant reader as the short story snippets are quick, but factual. If however you have a child easily frightened by imagery, you’ll want to proceed with caution. Being a capital “S” Scaredy-Cat myself, this book was even too much for me!!

OwlCrate Jr. September 2020 Frightlopedia

This month’s Witchy Booknerd collectible sticker was designed by Andrew Kolb – I absolutely love all her wild, curly red hair.

OwlCrate Jr. September 2020 sticker

September’s book pick is the highly reviewed, own voices story The Girl and The Ghost by Hanna Alkaf, which came with an exclusive cover, signed by the author, and with an author letter. This book sounds fantastic and my daughter and I will, of course, be reading it this October! Each box comes with a monthly magazine that is often overlooked, but is full of excellent content! From puzzles, games, mini quizzes, author interviews, book recommendations, craft ideas, science experiments and more! Keep these for a rainy/boring afternoon for some fun inspiration.

OwlCrate Jr. September 2020 The Girl and the Ghost

Sign up now for October’s Epic Quests box today and use Code TALES15 to save yourself 15% off a new subscription! This box will be perfect for fans of The Hobbit, Phillip Pullman, and Narnia and will feature the first book in a unique new fantasy series based on Indigenous stories. You definitely won’t want to miss out — OwlCrate Jr boxes make excellent Christmas presents … just saying.

Cheryl
Cherylhttps://www.aotales.com
Welcome to And other tales. The little corner of the interweb where we don’t count cups of coffee, believe cancelling plans to stay home & read is just good life advice, refuse to acknowledge the calories in baked goods and will never judge you on the number of marshmallows in your hot chocolate or the size of your TBR piles. Curl up, get comfy and click through for book reviews, life chats, playlists, vegan & gluten free baking recipes, gift guides and more.
RELATED ARTICLES

Newest Articles

Holiday Reading Guide 2022

October 2022 Reading Wrap-Up

Fall Book Haul