HomeUnboxingsLitJoy CrateUnboxing: Review of LitJoy Crate February 2019

Unboxing: Review of LitJoy Crate February 2019

LitJoy Crate February 2019 Unboxing

With all unboxings my intention is to help you determine if the box is worth your money. I go through each product included in the box first and assign a rating at the end. Each item is rated out of 3: usefulness, quality, and do I personally enjoy it? Often I will give bonus points for extra items/ exceptional covers/ exceptional pins … etc. 

This was a fun box. I’m really a sucker for Marie Antionette and Louis XVI French Revolution era stories, themes and fandoms. So I had high hopes for this box.

Let’s look closer together shall we?

First out of the box was the cute macaron key chain. It’s bright, chic, and fun. While I really like the look of macarons I think we can all agree they’re, taste-wise, quite unimpressive … but in key chain form they are adorable.

LitJoy Crate February 2019 keychain

Next up is this lovely, sparkly red LitJoy box with a hot air ballon gold necklace (complete with hanging wicker basket). I’m hard pressed to pick a favourite — the sparkly box or the necklace?

LitJoy Crate February 2019 necklace

Six of Crows magnetic bookmarks. These are a LitJoy exclusive item, but I’m uncertain of the artist. They have a full magnetic back and feel quite strong.

LitJoy Crate February 2019 bookmarks

Paris Stickers. Semi-transparent stickers for your journal, day planner or calendar. As a sticker aficionado I love a good set of stickers although again, I would’ve liked to have known who created these stickers.

LitJoy Crate February 2019 stickers

Caraval flippable sequin “mermaid” pillow. This pillow is based on Scarlet’s dress from Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and was designed by Stella Bookish Art — and is truly the star of this box. I really love Caraval and this pillow is very elegant while still being fandom-based.

LitJoy Crate February 2019 pillow case

Lastly we have the LitJoy trading cards and product magazine. The trading card set is “classic characters” and features: Jane Eyre + Mr. Rochester, Annie Elliot + Captain Wentworth, and Edmont Dantes + Fernand Mondego. I like the trading cards and think they do a really excellent job of them … but honestly I don’t know what to do with them.

I really like their product magazine and always appreciate the artwork. LitJoy always connects every item in the box to the book in some way which is my second favourite thing they do.

LitJoy Crate February 2019 papers

My number one favourite?

Oh! ….

 

The book and reversible book cover.

This month’s book pick is Enchantee by Gita Trelease. The book comes with an author letter print, is signed and has the reversible dust jacket art done by Manelle Oliphant. Truly, LitJoy reversible covers are my absolute favourite thing in book boxes right now. Always featuring a new artist each month with unique styles inspired by themes directly from that month’s book pick. Awesome.

LitJoy Crate February 2019 Enchantee

LitJoy Crate February 2019 book jacket

Overall Rating: A

  • Keychain 3/3: Fun, bright, useful. Hard plastic seems durable … for a keychain.

  • Hot air balloon necklace 3/3: Dainty, quirky & pretty. Fits my aesthetic and I will use it often. Quality seems typical of your book box/Claire’s jewelry pieces.

  • Magnetic bookmarks 2/3: I love six of crows anything and these cute cartoon-character versions of Kaz and Inej are adorable. However I’d like to know the artist who drew them and the hinges of the bookmarks feel, unfortunately, weak … I’m hoping they hold up!

  • Paris Stickers 2/3: I love stickers and will use these. However they are quite small and it would’ve been nice to have at least two sheets.

  • Sequin pillow 3/3: Stunning, based on a fandom I love, definitely useable! (One of my favourite items they’ve ever included).

  • Bonus Point: The amazing reversible dust jacket artwork!

Obviously you can tell I really enjoyed this box. I had some small complaints with the bookmarks and sticker sheet but they paled in comparison to the amazing pillowcase and the overall fun, bright tone of the box. One of my favourites!

Cheryl
Cherylhttps://www.aotales.com
Welcome to And other tales. The little corner of the interweb where we don’t count cups of coffee, believe cancelling plans to stay home & read is just good life advice, refuse to acknowledge the calories in baked goods and will never judge you on the number of marshmallows in your hot chocolate or the size of your TBR piles. Curl up, get comfy and click through for book reviews, life chats, playlists, vegan & gluten free baking recipes, gift guides and more.
RELATED ARTICLES

Newest Articles

Holiday Reading Guide 2022

October 2022 Reading Wrap-Up

Fall Book Haul