HomeUnboxingsOwlCrateUnboxing: Review of OwlCrate January 2020

Unboxing: Review of OwlCrate January 2020

“Vengeance Will Be Mine”

OwlCrate January 2020 Unboxing

Use my discount code TALES15 to save yourself 15% off your first OwlCrate or OwlCrate Jr subscription!

The theme for OwlCrate’s January box was “Vengeance Will Be Mine” …so basically starting 2020 out on a happy note! This box paid tribute to some favourite literary characters who rise up against those who have wronged them and seek revenge!!

Starting with my favourite item this month which is the lovely Harry Potter and The Order of The Phoenix mug by Cara Kozik. I love finding all the little easter eggs and details included in these mugs and this one is one of my favourites – mostly because it features Luna 🙂

OwlCrate January 2020 Harry Potter Mug

I love getting socks. I especially love Out of Print socks. I love the Six of Crows duology. So basically these Crooked Kingdom socks from Out of Print are perfection in my opinion!

OwlCrate January 2020 Crooked Kingdom socks

Another item I can never get sick of in book boxes is candles! This Children of Blood and Bone inspired candle comes from A Court Of Candles. OwlCrate sent out 5 different candles and it was a surprise which scent you would get – I got Seer which has notes of dragonfruit and tropical rainforest.

OwlCrate January 2020 A Court of Candles

This little mint/pill container with pocket mirror features a quote from Nevernight. If there is one item I receive too many of in my book boxes, it’s pocket mirrors! Luckily this one also has an additional purpose of holding mints or pills which I really appreciate … a girl only needs so many pocket mirrors!

OwlCrate January 2020 Nevernight

A new year means a brand new set of enamel pins from OwlCrate! So also included this month is a new The Hobbit inspired pin flag designed by In the Reads. This is a really nice quality canvas and I just love the map from The Hobbit … I just don’t think I can poke holes in it with my pins, it is too pretty!

OwlCrate January 2020 Middle Earth pin flag

The monthly enamel pin was designed by Forensics and Flowers and as always is inspired by the book of the month.

OwlCrate January 2020 enamel pin

The January book pick is another retelling (the name of the game in YA lately) – Scavenge the Stars by Tara Sim. This exclusive cover is a marked change from the original and has had some mixed opinions. Usually I’m not the biggest fan of huge cover changes but in this case I didn’t really like the original and think this exclusive cover is nice! The book also came signed, with an author letter.

OwlCrate January 2020 Scavenge the Stars

Overall Rating: A+

  • Harry Potter Mug: 3/3

  • Crooked Kingdom Socks: 3/3

  • Pocket Mirror: 3/3

  • Candle: 3/3

  • Pin Flag: 3/3

This was a great start to 2020 from OwlCrate and I really loved all the items and fandoms represented in this box. The quality is excellent as always and I really have zero complaints. If you are interested in purchasing a subscription to OwlCrate or OwlCrate Jr please use my discount code – TALES15 – to save yourself 15%.

Note on Rating: I rate each item out of 3 possible points: 1 for quality, 1 for usefulness, and 1 for if I personally liked the item/fandom. I then assign an overall letter rating for the whole box.

Cheryl
Cherylhttps://www.aotales.com
Welcome to And other tales. The little corner of the interweb where we don’t count cups of coffee, believe cancelling plans to stay home & read is just good life advice, refuse to acknowledge the calories in baked goods and will never judge you on the number of marshmallows in your hot chocolate or the size of your TBR piles. Curl up, get comfy and click through for book reviews, life chats, playlists, vegan & gluten free baking recipes, gift guides and more.
RELATED ARTICLES

Newest Articles

Holiday Reading Guide 2022

October 2022 Reading Wrap-Up

Fall Book Haul