HomeUnboxingsOwlCrate Jr.Unboxing: Review of OwlCrate Jr. September 2019

Unboxing: Review of OwlCrate Jr. September 2019

“Legends of the Deep”

OwlCrate Jr. September 2019 Unboxing

The theme for the OwlCrate Jr September box was “Legends of the Deep” … celebrating all things creepy deep down in the ocean blue!

I always like to start with our favourite item — in this case the Narwhal pen! It is an adorable black gel pen with a bright turquoise Narwhal, sporting a rainbow striped horn. A true unicorn of the sea!

Mermaid Sticker. This bright sticker features a mermaid reading Jaws and was designed by Laura Trinder. We love the colours in this quality, vinyl decal sticker!

My daughter really loves The Yeti Files series and was happy to get the next instalment of this funny comic novel. OwlCrate Jr included the first story back in the February 2018: Wild Magic box.

OwlCrate Jr. September 2019 The Yeti Files

Shark tea strainer + Gillyweed tea from Riddle’s Tea Shoppe. My daughter hates tea, so this was a bit of a miss for her. But both my husband and I love tea and this peppermint, chocolate rooibos tea will be delicious. How cute is that shark?

OwlCrate Jr. September 2019 Gillyweed Tea

Owen Davey shark + octopus art print. This was a really cool addition to the box and I love getting unique items that have never been included before. Owen Davey is the amazing artist behind the popular picture books: Crazy About Cats (which we own and love), Smart About Sharks, Mad About Monkeys, and more! While I really love his artwork this was a disappointing choice of print … at least with the limited description provided. The print shows an Octopus essentially killing a shark, which is kind of gruesome and off-brand.

OwlCrate Jr. September 2019 Owen Davey

However after reading Smart About Sharks, this print is actual portraying a Fijian folklore story about Dakuwaqa (a half man, half shark god that protects fishermen while at sea). According to legend he once tried to conquer an island but was confronted by a Goddess Octopus who grabbed Dakuwaqa with her arms and squeezed him very tight. Begging for his life, Dakuwaqa promised to become a protector of the surrounding waters.

It wouldn’t have been hard to include this small story with the print … because once you know the story it is a really cool piece. Without it, it is just violent. In our opinion.

The book pick for September is Malamander by Thomas Taylor and came with a signed bookplate, letter from the author, and a bookmark. We are excited to “dive” into this seaside adventure.

OwlCrate Jr. September 2019 Malamander

Eerie-On-Sea is a peculiar seaside town with a spooky local legend. John Herbert Lemon and his friend Violet must dodge shady characters as they work to unravel the towns mysteries and secrets and search for the elusive Malamander creature.

Each month a mini magazine is included that features an interview with the author, vendor, puzzles, book recommendations and more!

Overall Rating: B+

  1. Narwhal Gel Pen: 3/3

  2. Tea Strainer + Gillyweed Tea: 2/3 (In my personal experience I don’t know a lot of kids who drink tea and this is always a personal disappointment for my daughter. I appreciate it though!)

  3. The Yeti Files: Attack of the Kraken: 3/3

  4. Mermaid Sticker: 3/3

  5. Owen Davey Print: 1.5/3 (Neat item, amazing artwork, but the choice of print with lack of story surrounding what it is depicting was a big oversight in my opinion. A real missed opportunity.)

We can’t claim this was our favourite box this year, but I do appreciate the diversity of items included and quality of items. It was a fun, well themed box that will likely be a big hit for some. I do wish they’d stop including tea in the junior boxes and I am so disappointed in the missed opportunity surrounding the Owen Davey print and the mythology it represents.

Note on Rating: I rate each item out of 3 possible points: 1 for quality, 1 for usefulness, and 1 for if I personally liked the item/fandom. I then assign an overall letter rating for the whole box.

Cherylhttps://www.aotales.com
Welcome to And other tales. The little corner of the interweb where we don’t count cups of coffee, believe cancelling plans to stay home & read is just good life advice, refuse to acknowledge the calories in baked goods and will never judge you on the number of marshmallows in your hot chocolate or the size of your TBR piles. Curl up, get comfy and click through for book reviews, life chats, playlists, vegan & gluten free baking recipes, gift guides and more.
RELATED ARTICLES

Newest Articles