HomeUnboxingsLitJoy CrateUnboxing: Review of LitJoy July 2019

Unboxing: Review of LitJoy July 2019

“Defenders of Dragons”

LitJoy Crate July 2019 Unboxing

LitJoy Crate had me at their theme for the July 2019 box: “Defenders of Dragons”. A crate dedicated to dragons for dragon lovers … what more can I ask for in my life?

Included in the July 2019 box was the third of the four quarterly 2019 collectable charm bracelets – inspired by Game of Thrones. I really love how LitJoy is keeping these bracelets fairly neutral and can be worn by people who aren’t necessarily in the particular fandom. I love that green and blue dragon charm!

LitJoy Crate July 2019 bracelet

Who doesn’t need a magnetic literary dragons bookmark set? Featuring 4 adorable designs, this set included: a baby Smaug, the Hungarian Horntail, Stormfly from How to Train Your Dragon, and mother to all dragons — Hagrid. I adore this magnetic bookmark set, I would love to know the artist was behind the designs.

LitJoy Crate July 2019 Harry Potter dragons

My favourite item in the crate has to be this trinket dish featuring the dragons from How to Train Your Dragon – (hello Toothless my love) – with artwork by Kare Leopold. The trinket dishes are ceramic and oh, so adorable.

LitJoy Crate July 2019 How to Train Your Dragon dish

Lastly we have this wonderful, padded booksleeve featuring Mushu from Mulan, with the cheeky quote “I’m travel sized for your convenience.” I love that this padded book sleeve is a bit longer than other bookshelves I’ve received … it holds the longer, taller books perfectly.

LitJoy Crate July 2019 Mulan book sleeve

The trading cards included featured Isabell and Simon from the Shadowhunters, and the book pick for July was Shatter the Sky by Rebecca Wells. The gorgeous reversible dust jacket art was designed by Micheline Ryckman (whimsicalillustration) and is spectacular!

LitJoy Crate July 2019 cards

LitJoy Crate July 2019 Shatter the Sky

LitJoy Crate July 2019 book jacket

Overall Rating: A+

  1. Game of Thrones Charm Bracelet: 3/3

  2. Dragon Magnetic Bookmark Set: 2.5/3 (I want to know the artist!)

  3. How to Train Your Dragon Trinket Dish: 3/3

  4. Mushu Booksleeve: 3/3

I love that LitJoy chooses a memorable scene from the book to be illustrated in their wonderful reversible dust jackets each month. As I’ve said before, it is my favourite part of the crate.

I’m also really happy to see that they’ve included the snippets/lines from the book that inspired them to include each item in the crate – I love this extra attention to detail and knowing why each item was selected and how it represents the book pick.

I just wish we could know who the artist is behind those magnetic bookmarks they often include.

Note on Rating: I rate each item out of 3 possible points: 1 for quality, 1 for usefulness, and 1 for if I personally liked the item/fandom. I then assign an overall letter rating for the whole box.

Cheryl
Cherylhttps://www.aotales.com
Welcome to And other tales. The little corner of the interweb where we don’t count cups of coffee, believe cancelling plans to stay home & read is just good life advice, refuse to acknowledge the calories in baked goods and will never judge you on the number of marshmallows in your hot chocolate or the size of your TBR piles. Curl up, get comfy and click through for book reviews, life chats, playlists, vegan & gluten free baking recipes, gift guides and more.
RELATED ARTICLES

Newest Articles

Holiday Reading Guide 2022

October 2022 Reading Wrap-Up

Fall Book Haul