HomeUnboxingsFrostbeard Lit BoxUnboxing: Review of Frostbeard Lit Box November 2019

Unboxing: Review of Frostbeard Lit Box November 2019

“Austentatious”

Frostbeard Lit Box November 2019 Unboxing

The theme for Frostbeard’s November Lit Box was “Austentatious”, a celebration of all things Jane Austen. It was such a fun box and I was so pleased to receive some items I’ve never gotten in subscription boxes before! (Not easy since I’ve been subscribed to multiple boxes on and off for three years).

Here is what was inside:

Pride and Peppermint tea from NovelTeas. This large bag of tea is a combination of rooibos, peppermint and chamomile – these are my favourite teas so I’m very excited to try this on a cold afternoon dreaming away of Mr. Darcy. Luckily, also included from NovelTeas was a bookmark of Mr. Darcy with a passage from Pride and Prejudice on the back. (Another tea instructions bookmark was included with Elizabeth).

Frostbeard Lit Box November 2019 NovelTeas

Frostbeard Lit Box November 2019 bookmark

Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy cookie cutters. What a cool item! These custom cookie cutters come from a cute Etsy shop in Spain, Rochaix Cookie Cutters. I have already used them to make gingerbread Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy’s and it was such fun. They are great quality, easy to use, and easy to clean.

Frostbeard Lit Box November 2019 cookie cutters

Candle Trimmer from Frostbeard Studio with Frostbeard logo. This candle trimmer is of substantial quality and I was so excited to receive a pair. As an avid candle collector I don’t have a special candle trimmer, and just use simple scissors to trim back my wicks (gasp!). An average pair of candle snips will cost about $15 Cdn so this is a deceptive, high value item in the box.

Frostbeard Lit Box November 2019 wick trimmers

“Austentatious” greeting card from 4everYA. Your Jane Austen loving friend would surely appreciate a note from you in this punny greeting card. I personally plan to use mine in my journal.

Frostbeard Lit Box November 2019 card

The candle of the month for November was Darcy’s Parlour, a smokey combination of leather, antique wood and tobacco. It definitely smells like I’d imagine an old proper English gentleman’s parlour to smell. It is a mild/medium scent so the throw is light … I have found with the milder scented candles from Frostbeard if I leave them for 1-2 weeks the throw is stronger. Maybe it cures a bit more as it rests? Either way it is a trick I have picked up that might be helpful if you are struggling to smell the candle.

Frostbeard Lit Box November 2019 Darcy's Parlour candle

Overall: A+

  • Tea: 3/3

  • Bookmarks: 3/3

  • Cookie Cutters: 3/3 (I love this item! How cool is it that they are from Spain?)

  • Frostbeard Candle Trimmer: 4/3

  • Greeting Card: 2.5/3

  • Candle of the Month: 3/3

What a unique box! I love that Roxie and the team surprised me with with some items I’ve never received before, and such a carefully curated box. I wish the candle had a stronger throw, but I will wait a week or two and see if that improves the scent strength. I really love these little Lit Boxes and it never ceases to amaze me how Frostbeard is able to create such unique experiences with their candle scents!

Note on Rating: I rate each item out of 3 possible points: 1 for quality, 1 for usefulness, and 1 for if I personally liked the item/fandom. I then assign an overall letter rating for the whole box.

Cheryl
Cherylhttps://www.aotales.com
Welcome to And other tales. The little corner of the interweb where we don’t count cups of coffee, believe cancelling plans to stay home & read is just good life advice, refuse to acknowledge the calories in baked goods and will never judge you on the number of marshmallows in your hot chocolate or the size of your TBR piles. Curl up, get comfy and click through for book reviews, life chats, playlists, vegan & gluten free baking recipes, gift guides and more.
RELATED ARTICLES

Newest Articles

Holiday Reading Guide 2022

October 2022 Reading Wrap-Up

Fall Book Haul