HomeUnboxingsOwlCrate Jr.Unboxing: Review of OwlCrate Jr. December 2019

Unboxing: Review of OwlCrate Jr. December 2019

“Frost & Ice”

OwlCrate Jr. December 2019

I can’t imagine a more perfectly timed and curated box than OwlCrate Jr’s Frost & Ice December box! Full of frosty, wintery goodness it was an excellent box to receive just before Christmas (or as a Christmas present!) Here is what was inside:

The favourite item of this box has to be the Harry Potter inspired beanie. Designed, as always, by the talented Michelle Gray, my little was very excited to finally have her own sized HP beanie to match me. I love the blue, I love the snowflakes, I love the pom-pom … I just love it!

OwlCrate Jr. December 2019 beanie

Juniper and Ivy 3-D wooden ornament kit. This was so cool!! Every year OwlCrate, and now OwlCrate Jr, include an ornament in their December box and this was such a unique combination of that tradition and a STEAM item. Each little critter had to be removed from a pre-cut piece of wood and then could be assembled/arranged in a woodland scene as desired. Everything needed to then be secured with a bit of hot glue. The quality of the laser engraving and the adorableness of the woodland critters … this item is one of my favourites OwlCrate Jr included this year.

OwlCrate Jr. December 2019 Ornament

Snowball bath bomb by Whipped Up Wonderful. I.Love.Bath bombs. Bath bombs used to be a regular item in book boxes and I hope they make a come back because I truly miss them! I love that Sally still includes them in the Junior boxes … if only I could steal them from my little!

OwlCrate Jr. December 2019 bath bomb

SlimyGoop slime kit. For the slime obsessed generation this is such a cool (and large) addition to the box. These slime kits sell between $6 and $14 Usd and are really hard to find in Canada, so I always appreciate when these items are included in our boxes. I think this is just fun and I appreciate that OwlCrate Jr continues to put high value items in their boxes.

OwlCrate Jr. December 2019 slime

The book of the month was Voyage of the Frostheart by Jamie Littler and looks like the perfect wintry, January read. It came with a signed bookplate and author letter and I have a good feeling my little and I are going to enjoy this read together. Also included was a Voyage of the Frostheart pencil from the publisher.

OwlCrate Jr. December 2019 Frostheart

Overall Rating: A+

  • Harry Potter Beanie: 3/3

  • Juniper & Ivy ornament kit: 4/3

  • Snowball bath bomb: 3/3

  • SlimyGoop slime kit: 3/3

Such a great box, I really can’t say anything either than that! OwlCrate Jr had such a strong fall … somehow each box just got even better! My little and I have been receiving these boxes for three full years and I appreciate their continued focus on quality, fun and educational goodies.

Note on Rating: I rate each item out of 3 possible points: 1 for quality, 1 for usefulness, and 1 for if I personally liked the item/fandom. I then assign an overall letter rating for the whole box.

Cheryl
Cherylhttps://www.aotales.com
Welcome to And other tales. The little corner of the interweb where we don’t count cups of coffee, believe cancelling plans to stay home & read is just good life advice, refuse to acknowledge the calories in baked goods and will never judge you on the number of marshmallows in your hot chocolate or the size of your TBR piles. Curl up, get comfy and click through for book reviews, life chats, playlists, vegan & gluten free baking recipes, gift guides and more.
RELATED ARTICLES

Newest Articles

Holiday Reading Guide 2022

October 2022 Reading Wrap-Up

Fall Book Haul